Dakong Balay: Our Ancestral Home in Magsaysay, MisOr

As a child, I thought every family has an old house where their grandparents or great grandparents live. This is because in my mom’s side of the family, we have a huge old home that is frequently used for family reunions, weddings, and gatherings.

Every now and then, folks who are not from the area would ask my aunt’s permission to “view” the house. I thought that was odd since there’s not much to see inside. It’s just an old home, or so I thought.

Now that I am an adult, I finally understood why the old house is such a big deal – and why my mother and her siblings tried their best to keep it within the family. Apparently, only a few families have the capacity to build a huge home at the time. And even if they did, their descendants eventually sold them to businessmen and other people.

An older photo of the house. Some of the windows were not repaired yet here.

Facts About Our Ancestral Home

  1. It was built in 1932 by my great grandfather – Benigno Aquiño
  2. It is located in the center of Poblacion, Magsaysay, Misamis Oriental. Right across the plaza and the church.
  3. It was later transferred to my grandfather – Bonifacio Aquiño Sr. (That’s why my mom and her siblings now own it). Bonifacio Sr. and his wife, Praxedis Dela Cruz Aquiño, became mayors of Magsaysay, Misamis Oriental.
  4. Floors are made by tugas (wood).
  5. Today, the ground floors are being rented out as a commercial space. No one lives in the house anymore, but my aunts live nearby. The house is usually used as a common space for family gatherings and meetings.

Back in 2022, the Local Government Unit of Magsaysay created a replica of the home as an entry to the Kuyamis Festival. They won that year. 🙂

The floors are the most iconic thing of this house. It’s the most memorable feature for most visitors.

Leave a comment